Cyril Ramaphosa’s first test

Spread the love

Cyril Ramaphosa. – Outgoing Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa at the 54th ANC National Elective Conference held at Nasrec


The Organisation Undoing Tax Abuse (Outa) is cautiously optimistic at the election of Cyril Ramaphosa as the new president of the ANC‚ “as we believe he is more likely than any other candidate to tackle state capture‚ corruption and gross maladministration within government”.

“Of all the contenders for the ANC leadership‚ it was Ramaphosa who appears most willing to acknowledge and tackle the corruption scourge that has cost our nation dearly…‚” says Wayne Duvenage‚ Outa’s CEO.

Ramaphosa’s win does not mean that the fight against corruption is over‚ however‚ the organisation said. It stated the ANC’s internal election battle showed that the party is still riven with factions.

“Ramaphosa’s first real test in the anti-corruption war will be the appointment of a National Director of Public Prosecutions. This is an urgent and crucial matter and will give a clear indication of Ramaphosa’s ability and willingness to clean up‚” said Duvenage.

Earlier this month‚ the high court in Pretoria court declared as invalid the termination of the appointment of Mxolisi Nxasana as National Director of Public Prosecutions. It also set aside the appointment of Nxasana’s successor Shaun Abrahams. The court ordered that the country’s Deputy President‚ Ramaphosa‚ should appoint a new NDPP within 60 days.

Cyril Ramaphosa is the new president of the African National Congress (ANC), it was announced on Monday.

A total of 4,776 delegates began casting their ballots in the early hours of Monday to choose between the party’s deputy president and former African Union chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

Ramaphosa, 65, a former trade union leader, led the historic negotiations in the 1990s to end apartheid before launching a business career that made him one of South Africa’s wealthiest men.

He has promised to tackle state capture and corruption, and prioritise economic growth‚ job creation‚ education and land reform.

Here are how the other positions are stacking up:

  • David Mabuza won the deputy president position, beating Lindiwe Sisulu;
  • Former general-secretary Gwede Mantashe beat Nathi Mthethwa for the position of national chairperson;
  • The new secretary-general is Ace Magashule who narrowly beat Senzo Mchunu;
  • Jessie Duarte has retained her position of deputy secretary-general, defeating Zingiswa Losi;
  • and the new treasurer-general is Paul Mashatile, who defeated Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.